Challenge 256 – watercolor background

This week I took the sketch and used it very differently then the rest of my fellow design team members at Try Stampin on Tuesday.

At first glance I am sure that you can barely see the resemblance from the sketch to my card. Instead of using the thin white circle as an element I decided that it could represent a border. Which is why I did a back stitch all along the image panel.


image

I was originally going to place a leaf in the bottom corner for the small circle element but I didnt like the look. I just loved this card just the way it was. Sometimes you have to stretch the sketches and your imagination to think of new ways to be inspired by a sketch. You do not always have to use the same shapes or all the elements all the time.

The background is done with Dried Marigold and Barn Door distress ink used as water colors.  The stamp is Hero Arts Fall Layering Trees.

This entry was posted in cards, challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge 256 – watercolor background

  1. Lynn says:

    I agree, sometimes “less is more” and your card is lovely just as it is. Did you stitch on the card by hand with thread, or is that drawn on? I can’t tell from the picture.

    Like

Leave a Comment

