Challenge #194 – Twice is Nice

It is my week again to make a card for Try Stampin On Tuesday. The theme was twice is nice which has created some interesting cards from our team. You should check them out if you havent already. Here is the sketch for this week.

Now you have to use a little imagination to see how my card works with the sketch. I really wanted to make a scene Christmas card. But as soon as I saw the sketch I knew I could make it work. I changed it to a horizontal layout and flipped it upside down so the sentiment is on the bottom of the card.
image

 

 

 

 

Here is my card for the challenge. I used my Owl Punch to make two penguins as the two elements in the center of the card. You cant have penguins

imagewithout some snow. I made snow drifts. I put versamark on the edges and used my Recollections Snow embossing powder to give some definition and shine to the snow. I also used it for the falling snow. The sentiment came from a multiple holiday set from Close to My Heart. I used some black pigment ink and clear embossing powder to make it shinny as well. This black element helps to balance the black penguins. I had wanted to give them some cute hats but I didnt have ant stamps and didnt have the right size circle to make one out of paper. The wings/flippers are made from the owl ears. This idea came from Darlene DeVries. I love the happy penguins. You can see the video where she does this here.

I hope that you will join in on the fun for this week over at Try Stampin on Tuesday and make a card using this sketch. Please check out the rest of the design teams creations. Some of the ladies were very creative.

This entry was posted in cards, challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

