Get Well Card – Tea Cup

Once again I saw a cool card on Pintrest and wanted to make something similar. The pin can be found here. I wanted to add get well cards to my collection to send as a gift. I was told that it was a very good idea to include.

image

I did a few different things here. The cup and steam is from a picture to color or cut can be found here. I changed the steam so that it formed a cute heart. I did cut the cup out of some pink paper that has a little bit of a subtle pattern to it. I used a marker to draw the cup details and fill in the tea. The steam is cut from some light grey paper scraps I had. I did put glossy accents over the tea and steam for some shine. This can be better seen in the other image.

 

 

 

 

 

imageThe tag hanging out of the cup is not stuck down to the cup. I sliced a small area in the edge of the cup area to place the string behind. I taped the string to the back of the cup. Glued the shape for the tag to either side. It can swing freely as the card moves. I wanted to make it fairly realistic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

The other fun thing is that I made this wood texture paper. I did this using glossy photo paper. My grandma gave me a bunch of it. I wasnt sure what I was going to do for it. I didnt have any wood grain paper I liked. So I got the glossy paper and took a fine sandpaper to it. I rubbed in just one direction to get the wood grain effect. I simply added brown ink over the top. This would have been a good time to use some distress ink but I dont have any brown colors. The last thing I did was stamp get well with some black pigment ink and embossed it with clear embossing powder. Both the sentiment and the wood grain glossy paper have some shine to them.

Hope you enjoyed this card and got some ideas for some get well cards of your own. Or maybe you will be making some wood grain paper yourself like I did. If you like this card let me know.
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog
I did decide that since I just finished this card up today that I would enter it in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. This week is anything goes so I think it fits very well.

This entry was posted in cards, challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get Well Card – Tea Cup

  1. Anna-Karin says:

    Such a sweet card! Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!!

    Like

Leave a Comment

