Challenge #189 – Autumn Splendor

I know it isn’t my normal week for having a Try Stampin on Tuesday challenge but we have special things going on this month to celebrate Halloween. Today there is a word jumble/scramble like they do in the newspapers. I have two words for you. I suggest thinking of things at go with the holiday of Halloween like ghosts, witches, and other haunting creatures.

CIFONF

IMPEARVP

For the other words and to see more cards and get more information on the activity please head over to Try Stampin on Tuesday.

Now on to the card. I really liked the sketch this week and wanted to add a card to the mix so I did the sketch. You will not see it in the inspiration since its not my design week. Here is your bonus inspiration card.

Here is the sketch for this week. Kind of simple but lots of things you can do with it. When I thought of autumn splendor I thought of apples and pumpkins. When I found this cute set of pumpkins I had to use them. The pumpkin image can be found here. It is free to save and use.

image

image

imageHere are some close ups of the details. The patterns paper is from a pack that my friend rescued before it got thrown out. It is great card paper. I colored the pumpkins in with colored pencils. Lots of layers and tried my hand at some shading. I didnt used gamsol or baby oil to smooth and blend though you could have. The sentiment is from the Hero Arts Everyday Sayings set.

For the added detail on the side I went with some simple X stitch marks. I thought they added to rustic nature of the card. I did make four cards so they will be used in the card sets I give for Christmas. I dont think I had enough brads for five on all four cards. I poked the holes first and then went back to do the stitching made it much easier. From the picture below you can see I didnt have enough of the orange stripe paper either. I want to know which card you like better? The orange or the green.

image

I hope that you enjoyed my card. Please go to Try Stampin on Tuesday to check out the other cards by the rest of the design team and for more information on the word jumble. I hope to see your card creations.

For those of you who read my entire posts. The Guess Who is Who of the designers is open for one more week. You only need one correct to be entered in the drawing. I will let you know that I am one of the pictures featured there. Which one I will not tell you but hope that helps and maybe gives a few of you a chance to win. Hop on over to Try Stampin on Tuesday to try to figure out which little girl is me.

This entry was posted in cards, challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge #189 – Autumn Splendor

  1. LeAnne says:

    Lovely card….I like the little cross stitches on the side!

    Like

Leave a Comment

