Pink Pinwheel Card

In honor of October being breast cancer awareness month I want to share a card where I used lots of pink. I dont normally use pink in my cards. It is not my favorite color but in this case it works and for this month I am more then happy to support the cause. I have had family and friends go through and beat breast cancer.

This is another card that I made to go in the card sets for my grandparents. I made four identical cards this time but am only showing one here. This is also the card I altered the brads for.

 This is the sketch and tutorial I based the card on. It is from Operation Write Home. There is a video and more examples for you to see here. You will need to scroll down. Be sure to watch the scrap wrangler video it is very funny and cute. The nice part is the sketch has all the measurements to help you out.

I love the person who rounded the corners it looks great and gives a different feeling to the card.

 

 

 

 

imageThis is my version. I used some vintage style pattern papers that I won from a scrapbooking night. I placed it on brown cardstock. Mine had a white core so I used a brown marker along the edges because the white was bugging me. I used my altered brad in the center mine is matte because of the paint but I could have clear embossed it to add some shine to the brad. The sentiment is from Hero Arts – Everyday Sayings. I cut a little banner in some blue paper and rubbed the edges on my brown ink pad. The background is pink paper with a vellum overlay. The vellum is embossed with the swiss dots embossing folder. ( my velum is actually vellum tracing paper I have left over from my drawing class. It is a little thinner then traditional vellum but it works. ) My card is actually 5 1/2″ x 4″ because the card bases from the craft stores are a 1/4″ smaller then a standard A2 size card. I still used the measurement from the above sketch for the pinwheel.

Hope you enjoyed my card. If you did please like my post or leave me a comment. If you really like all my cards please follow my blog. If you have a blog leave me a link so I can check it out and see what you are crafting.

This entry was posted in cards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

