Challenge #184 – Back to School

It is that time again when I post my design of the Try Stampin On Tuesday challenge. I want to challenge you to participate if you dont already and if you do then I cant wait to see what you come up with. This was a great sketch to work with one of my favorite so far. Granted I have only been doing this a few weeks now. I am getting the hang of it. Just dont ask me how long it took for me to complete. lol Please check out what the rest of the designers did and leave me a comment or question.

This month we are starting back with themes each week. At first I thought there was going to be no way that I was going to be able to make a card in a true back to school look. But then I realized that I wanted to make my best friend a card to congratulate her on her new job of becoming a teacher. I knew that this was going to be perfect and the sketch was going to make doing this card pretty simple. 

IMG_0847Here is my version of the sketch. I used lots of primary colors. Some pretty textured paper for the background. I cut a template for the apple in scrap paper and then cut it out and just shaped the other elements by hand. The part I like the best is the notebook paper.  It was so fun to make. It is just some cream cardstock. I drew a guide line and then used a office hole punch to make the holes and then I cut a slit in the middle and bent and curled them to give it that torn paper look. I drew the lines on with some markers and It just turned out great. Gave me a nice line to put my sentiment on. As a last touch I added the A and put a thin layer of glossy accents to finish it off.

IMG_0848

Here is a close up of the paper. It looks way better in person.

 

 

 

 

 

20140906_155139

Lastly here is a picture of her card and the coaster that I made her. I am sure she will love it. Now I just need to write in it and get it off in the mail with some other goodies for her classroom. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are still reading and have not checked out the other designer’s work please do so. I would love to see your work as well. Check out Try Stampin on Tuesday. Leave me a comment.

This entry was posted in cards, challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

